Entertainment - Book Reviews

A modern ‘Pride & Prejudice’

By Alexa Baer
Times-News
   “Pride”: by Ibi Zoboi. Balzer + Bray, copyright 2018. 304 pages. $17.39, audio CD; $13.39, hardcover; $9.99, Kindle; and $7.69, hardback.
“Pride and Prejudice“ gets a modern Brooklyn makeover in this adaptation by Ibi Zoboi.
    The book centers around Zuri Benitez, a proud Afro-Latina and proud Bushwick native. It focuses on her relationship with her four sisters, Janae, Marisol, Layla and Kayla. When the affluent   Darcy family with two teenage boys moves in, well, things begin to change.
    To Zuri, the Darcy family moving in to her neighborhood is just the most recent part of its changing landscape and she wants nothing to do the family. But when Zuri’s older sister, Janae, falls for Ainsley, it forces Darius and Zuri to spend time together.
    Zuri is averse to change, having lived in the same neighborhood, on the same street and in the same apartment her whole life. Suddenly she has to cope with the fact that her life might not always be anchored to the Brunswick she grew up in.
    With the Darcy family moving in at the climax of the change, Zuri can often be found taking out her frustrations on Darius and judging the family because of their wealth.
    This book lacks the character development of many other adaptations and instead relies heavily on the idea that readers of this adaptation have read the original or at least seen the movie.
    Zuri Benitez is possibly more judgmental than Elizabeth Bennet, but also has more to say. Zuri is grappling with her identity as a girl from the hood and the gentrification of her home as well as class and cultural differences in her changing neighborhood.
    Zuri is still a teenage girl and with college applications on the horizon, cute boys and annoying siblings, so her problems are something every girl can relate to.
    Zoboi does a great job of taking 21st century problems and merging them with a timeless classic. She tackles cultural identity and class, giving this classic story a new face and giving the characters a new cultural identity, which enhances the story.
    Fans of “Pride and Prejudice“ adaptations will easily be able to spot all the characters they know and love, or at least love to hate.
Alexa Baer is a senior at Elon University and a Times-News intern. 

5 books to read before summer ends

By Emily Clark
Times-News correspondent 

The Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA) advocates that all teens should have access to a great    library.
Each year, a committee of librarians called “the Blogging Team,” compiles fiction books geared toward 12 to     18 year olds that have been published within the past 14 months. This “Best Fiction List” is posted, perused       and used as a guide in libraries across the nation to better serve the teens in individual communities.
Both the May Memorial Library in Burlington and The Gibsonville Public Library used the 2019 list to guide     their next purchases, and have the majority of the titles on the list. In addition, the organization allows     teenagers to nominate and vote for books on the YALSA website, the books with the most votes will be placed read more…


Witty book would make the Bard proud

By Logan White
Times-News correspondent

    • “William Shakespeare’s The Force Doth Awaken”: by Ian Doescher. Quirk Books, copyright 2017. 165 pages. $14.95.
To BB–8 or not to BB–8? That is the question posed by author Ian Doescher in his latest installment of “William Shakespeare’s Star Wars.”
Journey to a galaxy far, far away and a land long, long ago and join a cast of familiar characters and their adventures in “The Force Doth Awaken”.
An Elizabethan retelling of George Lucas’ modern space opera, “The Force Doth Awaken” recounts the events of the seventh installment of “Star Wars” with wit that would make the Bard proud. Follow a scavenger, a turncoat, a rebel and a host of conflicted characters as they act out a page-turning epic, translating the struggle between light and dark into lines of iambic pentameter. Witness the soul-searching soliloquies of the villainous Kylo Ren, the memory-lane monologues of Han Solo, and even editor’s translations of Chewbacca’s cries. As Rey and the Resistance struggle against the invasive military might of the First Order, will good prevail against evil? Will Rey and Finn discover their destiny? Or will the galaxy finally fall to the power of the Dark Side?
With classic lines like “some idle-headed moof-milker did place an ill compressor on th’ignition line!” and “Can we press on? My fur is getting chill’d!,” and beautiful, woodcut-style illustrations, “The Force Doth Awaken” earns a place on the bookshelves of science fiction fanatics and Shakespeare fans alike. It’s not the easiest read — this is Shakespeare, after all — but it is a fantastic introduction to the Bard for all ages. From soaring space adventure to the intimacy of an authentic Shakespearean script, “William Shakespeare’s The Force Doth Awaken” is a treat for fans of the screen and stage.

Logan A. White is a home-schooled high school senior and a Teens & 20s writer.


  • About Teens & Twenties

    Teens & Twenties is produced by high school and college writers and photographers throughout Alamance County. The print edition appears on Mondays in the Times-News and is distributed throughout the local schools. On the website, you’ll find some of our stories, photos and more. Feel free to browse around and give us comments, too. We’d love to hear from you!


  • Join us!

    Teens & Twenties' annual orientation party is from 4 p.m. to 6 p.m. June 5 at the Times-News office, 707 S. Main St., Burlington. We're looking for high school and college writers, photographers and artists to complete our award-winning youth page each Monday. Space is limited so reserve a spot today by calling (336) 506-3057 or email Charity Apple


  • Teens&20s Tweets

    The connection to twitter has returned an error. Please try again later.